Kicked out of a band due to....

rogue_drummer

Gold Member
playing in your church band? My apologies for bringing religion into a discussion, but has anyone here been kicked out of a group just finding itself because they play in their church band? All things being equal, and the church band does not interfere with the secular band for gigs, rehearsal times, etc.

Everything was going great in the secular band, things were cooking, I was getting a lot of compliments, then I merely said to the leader that I'll be late to a gig I'm not even playing in. He and the singer were playing a duo acoustic gig and I told him we'd be about an hour or so late to his gig (that I saw him play 2 weeks ago at the same venue), because I have a church gig I have to play for.

Three days later I get an email saying they've gone with another drummer and they're sure I'm a good church drummer but I'm "not what they are looking for". Prior to my email to the leader about my church gig that past Friday, nobody in the band even knew I went to a church. I need to add here, that no time at all did I "preach, mention, or hint" at religion. I was there to play rock and roll and blues, not to discuss religion or politics, etc.

Kinda odd, huh?

Man, you have the absolute worst luck with bands, and always for the most ridiculous reasons.

I'll pray for you man.

haha, just kidding I'm not really religious, in fact I now hate you for the fact that you go to church.

Go choke on a drumstick crazy person :)

God will reward you. Peace and goodwill.

Really though...maybe they just wanted to do drugs, drink as much as possible, have sex with as many women as they wanted and not have a member in their band judging them?

Not preaching. Just making a point. Maybe they just want a drummer that will join in on the party and not hold back.

Or maybe the other drummer just worked out better for them overall. Schedule, vibe, etc. They could have done you a favor by hiring the other cat.

Last edited: