Teaching qualifications UK

Goreliscious

Hi, I'm talking about the UK here but the idea probably transends national borders. Are there any qualifications/grades/etc that will give you more credibility if you want to advertise as a drum teacher?

I'm self taught and could easily teach beginners, but I'm imagining the parents thought process and guessing they'd go for someone that advertises as having X, Y and Z qualifications to their name.

Aside from the drum qualifications, would having a police background check to say I'm not a paedo help my cause? If someone's leaving their child with me I'm guessing they'd like to know I don't have a history of fiddleing with them.

Before anyone says it - I wouldn't be putting drum teacher ads online signed "Goreliscious"! I'm aware how that wouldn't help my wallet.

As far as I'm aware, at least as far as Trinity Guildhall and UCL are concerned, you need Grade 8 to teach up to Grade 5, and your Associate's diploma to teach up to Grade 8. I'm not sure how many people follow this, but I would suggest that, if you haven't already, take a few lessons of your own and perhaps see where you fall on the grade scale, because you might not be as ready as you think to teach others.

This was something that happened to me. I taught for a while, and then resumed my own lessons. Now that I'm working on my own qualifications, re: Grade 8 and the associate diplomas, and I've learned so much that I honestly don't feel like I was qualified to teach back then. It is a common fallacy that being self-taught can get you to the same level as formal tuition, it can't, and never will.

As for being a "paedo", having a CRB always helps, but you aren't allowed to get one for yourself unless you're technically self-employed, which you should be if you're a drum teacher. May I ask how old you are? If you're young (<25), you might struggle anyway.