Choosing my career path...

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamaul08

Hey everyone! I'm new here. Just wanted to start out with a brief bio and maybe get some advice from everyone. I'm 20yrs old and have been playing drums for small local bands and churches for the past 7yrs. Just like any other drummer, I've spent a good chunk of money on equipment over the years between cymbals, sticks, heads, and entire kits.

I put a band together 3 years ago and it has been my main focus since then. We have had the privilege of playing at many of the larger venues here in Atlanta, including the Masquerade. As a drummer, I have also done some side gigs with local artists who were seeking collabs. Currently, my band is in the process of recording our first EP to be packaged into a nice press kit. We have waited a while since recording demos before deciding to do an EP because of lineup changes. Anyway, now that you know a bit about it, let me discuss my dilemma....

I live in Georgia, one of the top breeding grounds for successful hip-hop/r&b artists in the states. I think the largest names to come out of here for Rock are Sevendust and Cartel, neither of which are very "large" bands in the sense of popularity. It is SO HARD to find musicians here that are talented and willing to produce quality music that challenges today's current styles. I love all genres, but I steer my music towards Alternative Rock because it reaches to a larger audience. I love to make music with such a sound that some one who has only listened to rap all their life could appreciate it. Bands that I feel have accomplished this are Linkin Park, Chilli Peppers, Three Days Grace, Disturbed, Nickelback, etc.