Session Work Advice Please

Witterings

Silver Member
I'm in a fortunate situation with my work that if someone called and said we need you in a studio today as we've been let down I could nearly always drop what I'm doing, pack up my kit and head straight off and am thinking about trying to get some session work.

I'll be doing this mainly because I want to and for the love of playing rather than my mainstream income (be a bonus to get paid as well) but as I've never done it before have no idea what to do / expect if I get that 1st call ??

I'd appreciate any advice anyone can give and a couple of specific queries I have are:

How do you get the work - do you call sound engineers and ask them to put you on a list or do you have to call Producers and if so how would you go about finding them as they're not necessarily based at one studio???

Generally how much notice do you get (apart from the drop everthing come now call) and what might you be given in advance ie rough sound track, sheet music or anything or is it just turn up on the day and they drop the music in front of you and expect you to play it perfectly 1st time around and how much "interpretaion" is there for fills ???

In a studio sense what is a click track, I always play to records at home and when we've practiced as a band and have struggled with the tempo on some songs have often out a metronome though some headphones, is it literally a metronome or a track recorded to time ???

I know drums are layed down 1st but how does that work, what do you have to listen to or do you all play at the same time so you know where the songs going but just the drums are recorded ???