Any suggestions?

KyleM

Ok, I'm brand new to this forum but I was hoping some of you might have some ideas which could help me out. Here's the situation: I'm currently in my final year of studying music at university and in April I will be doing my final recital exam. Naturally I'm playing drums for this exam and have already chosen most of the pieces. The premise of my performance is basically a short history of the drumset and the changing role of the drummer, mostly within the boundaries of rock. So far the pieces I'm playing are La Villa Strangiato (Rush), Paradigm Shift (Liquid Tension Experiment) and Golden Dolphin (Marco Minnemann). Thing is, I'll need about two more pieces with which to start the performance before I get to 70s prog, maybe something along the lines of rock-influenced-jazz or jazz-influenced-rock.
So, anyone got any ideas? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Ok, I'm brand new to this forum but I was hoping some of you might have some ideas which could help me out. Here's the situation: I'm currently in my final year of studying music at university and in April I will be doing my final recital exam. Naturally I'm playing drums for this exam and have already chosen most of the pieces. The premise of my performance is basically a short history of the drumset and the changing role of the drummer, mostly within the boundaries of rock. So far the pieces I'm playing are La Villa Strangiato (Rush), Paradigm Shift (Liquid Tension Experiment) and Golden Dolphin (Marco Minnemann). Thing is, I'll need about two more pieces with which to start the performance before I get to 70s prog, maybe something along the lines of rock-influenced-jazz or jazz-influenced-rock.
So, anyone got any ideas? Any input would be greatly appreciated.