Five and a half months later...

MaryO

Platinum Member
and lessons are still going strong. Starting to feel less like a complete noob and actually learning a few things. Still have a long way to go but my teacher gave me a great compliment last week when he simply looked at me and said "you're becoming a better drummer. I really am noticing improvement in technique and knowledge over what I saw just a month ago." Music to my ears :)

Last week I was downstairs fooling around with a new song and the boyfriend walked down and said "I didn't know you knew how to play that song". I looked at him and smiled and said I didn't...it had just tried playing along to it for the first time. Made me feel as if I really was on the right track.

Still so much to learn and what I don't know is astonishing! I still have to say that taking the plunge and starting lessons, even at 43, was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

So now I'm starting to wonder, where do I go from here? I always thought I just wanted to learn to play so I could play along to some tunes and stay in my basement. But I'm starting to think I would like the experience of playing with a band at some point. I don't want it to be a career or anything but something part time would be fun. I know I'm a long way from that but wonder if it's a possibility.

I don't know...Do any of you have experience as starting as an "older" drummer and what did you do with your skills once you learned? Just curious and looking towards the future.

Thanks everyone and, as always, Happy Drumming!

That's great Mary!
I remember when you first joned us here and you talked about your first kit.
Keep up the good work and I'm glad that you enjoy drumming so much.