My Sticks Smell Bad

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elijah116

So, I don't know if this is strange or not but I started playing the drums like 5 months ago. I've played with the same sticks the whole time (vic firth 5A classic) and recently I noticed that my hands always smell bad after I play because of the sticks. Did anyone else have this problem? Should I just buy new sticks?

Are you sure they're not those cloned Vic Filth sticks?

(I'll get my coat...)

My feeling is that if you play with perfectly clean hands, you are setting yourself up for a dropped stick.
In the 1960's before I played a live show I would always put soda pop or beer on my hands. It helped me a great deal with gripping onto the drum stick.
I played hard rock in those days.

Even today I still make sure to NOT wash my hands before I play. Last week I happen to wash some nasty stuff off of my hands just before I played a gig.
So again I put some Dr Pepper on my hands just before playing. But I rarely do that anymore.

I use stick wrap at church these days. I used to drop sticks all of the time before this because the soap used in the bathrooms was more lotion-based as opposed to soap-based (I hope that makes sense).

I suggest stick wrap and washing your hands.

My feeling is that if you play with perfectly clean hands, you are setting yourself up for a dropped stick.
In the 1960's before I played a live show I would always put soda pop or beer on my hands. It helped me a great deal with gripping onto the drum stick.

Even today I still make sure to NOT wash my hands before I play. Last week I happen to wash some nasty stuff off of my hands just before I played a gig.
So again I put some Dr Pepper on my hands just before playing. But I rarely do that anymore.

Either that, or switch to Regal Tip sticks with that tacky lacquer coating they put on their sticks.