Drum Situation

xb2003

Hey,
I have kinda got a story that goes along with this, so...ya know. Anyways:

Im a drummer(really? Dur da Dur), and i have a huge drumset. And im going to be honest, im a highschool student who was spoiled with this huge beast of a drumset some 5 years ago or something. Just to list it, its a Pearl Export, 12-Piece. 2 Bass, Snare, 6 Toms, 3 Single Head Toms(not roto, like concert toms). And i kind of feel like i have outgrown it. Its just kinda Mismatched, and nothing sounds real great. And i have grown it from a 5 Peice. But to save a lot of details, i enjoy playing on a 5-Piece Drumset more then this thing. Im having a really hard time suggesting this to my dad, because he is the one who has funded this whole thing. So here is the deal:
Recently my friend wrote a song. And luckly i have a teacher friend at a small school who happeneds to have a recording studio in the music room. High quality crap. No drum fx, but im mean, Pre-Sonus Digital Mixer, Audix Mics, everything. So after we lay down the drums, i listen to it, and im like "man, those sound so...outspread(was the word that came to mind)." They really didnt sound too bad, individually (except my crappy cast bronze cymbals). But together, it all sounded like crap. I had always thought it was just my listening point that mad it sound bad, but i think this is kinda the icing on the cake.

So here is what im trying to say: