What should I have learnt

trickshot0621

Hi guys I'm a drum noob who only started to play drums about 7 months ago. I right now have a private tutor with me since the beginning but I'm starting to think that I'm behind what i should've learnt by now.
So what sort of stuff should i be able to to on my e-kit right now? ( roland td11kv)

I'm afraid you might not get very many helpful responses because a) everyone learns at a different rate, and b) what you can play is perhaps less important than how well your technique is developing. Only your teacher will really know, and should be giving you feedback.

And really, what does it matter? If you are "behind," are you going to work extra hard? Are you going to give up? If "ahead," are you going to slack off or relax? You should just try your best and keep plugging away if you love the instrument, IMO. Drumming is a lifelong journey for those who really love it.

Good luck, and welcome to the world of drumming!

Adding to the above - what are your goals? What concept is your teacher following? Did you give him any clues on what is most interesting for you (e.g. genres)? Or did you simply want to "learn drumming" and become a "good drummer"?

Sure, in the beginning there's a lot of things that tend to be taught typically. But the longer you're into it the more specific your practice might get. We have a good number of instructors on this forum so there might be some agreement as to what beginners might/should have learnt at your stage but that info would only be a rough guideline.

Also, any teacher can only teach you certain things but it's up to you to sit down and work on all that and practice the motions/concepts. So are you prepared when you have lessons? A good teacher should also show you how to practice efficiently. Perfect/quality practice makes perfect, not 'only' practice.

Maybe.......English?

And, I agree on the pace thing. You learn and progress at your own pace.