DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 10-03-2012, 09:40 PM

Default Critique my playing and offer tips

Hello all,

I am looking for some feedback to aide me in growing from a guy that can play drums into a drummer. My story is rather unique as I am 37 and I have been playing drums since high school. The unique part is that I have never been in a band (until two years ago) and never practiced by myself. Most of the past 20 years of playing has been jamming with other musicians a few times a year. I started a band with another old high school buddy a couple of years ago and we began writing songs and playing out.

Consequently, I am a pocket drummer that plays by feel and feeds off of the other players. I have never practiced with a metronome and rarely keep count in my head. Any advice would be appreciated as to what I should work on without scratching the last 20 years and starting over with the basics. I simply don't have the time or rehearsal space get on a militant practice schedule.

Please have a listen to a few tracks we have laid down for a Demo and offer some feedback (no click track used).

SoundCloud

Long time lurker and first time poster,
~Byron
Old 10-03-2012, 11:18 PM

Default Re: Critique my playing and offer tips

" I simply don't have the time or rehearsal space get on a militant practice schedule. "..... If you don't have the "time" , then how can any of us offer suggestions that would require you to make the time to implement them?
Old 10-04-2012, 12:28 AM

I wouldn't say im in much of a position to give advice as i've only been playing 3 years but ill try give some anyway, so do with it as you wish. First off, your bands killer man, love the sound. I'll give some general tips on things I try to do and then ill tell you what I think of your playing on each of the songs.