DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 01-23-2019, 04:58 PM

Default Self-taught drummer tips

I am relatively new and don't have money. Once I get enough money consistently, I want to do lessons with Go-Go Ray. In the meantime, I need some help keeping myself motivated and help me improve my skills.
Old 01-23-2019, 05:51 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Self-taught drummer tips

What are your specific goals in playing? In other words, what do you want to be able to do?

What kind(s) of music do you want to play?
Old 01-23-2019, 06:09 PM

I was just thinking the other day how amazing it is to be learning an instrument in 2019. YouTube is overflowing with content, and has been my go-to for explanations of technique, examples of exercises, etc.
Old 01-23-2019, 10:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorkPieGuy View Post
What are your specific goals in playing? In other words, what do you want to be able to do?

What kind(s) of music do you want to play?
Blues and rock/hard rock mainly. I just want to improve my skills and help myself stay motivated
Old 01-23-2019, 11:47 PM
Platinum Member

It is a little vague.

You should have a balance of working on your technique and learning songs. If you're smart you'll learn how to read as well.

Can you afford a few books, DVDs or a typical $30 pr. month website subscription?
Old 01-24-2019, 12:14 AM

Jamming to a stereo turned up loud is all the instruction I ever had. Might work for you too!
Old 01-24-2019, 02:22 AM
Gold Member