Trad Advice

andSometimesY

I have been playing drums for roughly four years now and 99% of my experience has been with matched grip. I can play beats and such using trad, but I am never confident enough with it to use it in a gig. It seems that when I watch the pros (Antonio Sanchez, any jazz great) they get grace notes that are much more fluid by using traditional grip. I never feel like putting in the time to get good with it. I have asked my drum teacher (who plays trad 99% of time) if it is important that I learn to play trad, and he always seems to brush off the question. So I ask you guys: Is it important that I get comfortable with traditional grip?

I recently adopted trad grip, and in fact it has caused my ability to play tasteful grace notes and ghost notes tremendously. I have also noticed that I seem to be able to play some around-the-set rudimental ideas a little more comfortably. But in general, I switch back and forth between traditional and matched for different feels. When playing jazz (which is about 85% of my practice and performance playing), I play with my left hand traditional and my ride hand tends to go French on the cymbals and switch to more American for snare and tom work. I guess I like the rebound French grip gives you for cymbals, whereas my finger control suffers if I play French on drums.

I would highly recommend learning Trad, if only to say you have tried it. A lot of times, when you try out a new setup or paradigm, you end up learning a LOT even if you end up switching back later.

Guys who don't play Trad knock it, and those that do play it, love it. I'd go with the guys that have tried it and love it. Practice it daily and you too will one day see the benefits of playing trad. Besides, it looks cool.