Best "budget" double bass pedal

drummindan8484

I'm just getting started in double bass, and while I've been doing OK with turning the hi hat pedal on my e-kit into a 2nd kick, it's about time to get the real thing. However, I'm not as dedicated a double bass player as some and want to be able to get a decent pedal without breaking the bank. Of these "budget" pedals, which one should I get? Hopefully I'll be able to make it out somewhere to try a few of these out over the weekend.

Mapex 500- cheap but gets good reviews
Pearl P902
Tama Iron Cobra Jr.- Have the single and it's great, but I figured I'd still explore other options
Gibraltar Avenger II
DW DWCP2002
DW 3000- I've heard people say these are too heavy, but I'm not a blast beat guy so I don't know if that would be a problem

I would suggest the Iron Cobra Jr

The Mapex pedal tends to fall apart after a year or so,
Gibralter foot plates are too heavy (for me anyway)
and I've never liked anything DW related.

The Pearl is not bad at all, I had that same model for a little while and I didn't have many complaints about it.
For a single chain drive pedal, it was surprisingly smooth, I thought.

Plenty of people here have said good things about the Cobra Jr.'s, pretty sure some might even prefer it to the regular Cobras...

You should still get your foot on as many of those choices as possible to gauge it for yourself if it will be worth the money.

I like the DW3000's.

Try em out yourself though.

Mapex has some very well priced double pedals. The 500 series is only $100, the new p710 is around $170, and the Raptor direct drive is around $230.

I had the DW7000( which i beleive now is the 3000 ) and they were ok. A little heavy but i got used to that after a while, but they were pretty smooth also. The only major complaint i had with them is the footboard was a little to short.