A "Midlife Crisis" With Drumming

Hey guys. I feel like I've been at quite a standstill with my drumming for quite some time, with several factors leading up to it. Before i go into detail, I'll give you a little bit of background about me and drumming.

I've been playing since I was in 7th grade, so around 7 years now. I'm self-taught for the most part, although I didn't really start getting into drumming until the 5th year (I saw the most improvement between my 5th and 6th years). The 7th year, where i'm at now, is my first year of college. Because of the fact that I'm in college now, I am no longer involved in a music program as there are none at my school. I performed in several bands throughout high school in the metal genre, and I also took part in the jazz program at my high school where I learned jazz and Latin beats (Latin very minimally). I spent the majority of my 6th year of drumming learning metal techniques, beats, and songs. This year showed the most improvement in my techniques and abilities, as the difficulty of songs I could perform slowly got harder and harder.