2 Things That Have Helped You Improve Most

Witterings

Silver Member
If you could name 2 things you've done or learnt or studied that have helped you improve the most and become a better drummer what do you think they'd be.

It could be anything from simply a change of practice routine, a Book or DVD, an exercise from a Teacher or simply something someone said.

The 2 biggest things for me coming from originally a self taught background was .. first .. watching Benny Greb's DVD and understanding the break down of say 4 notes and if you're playing single stokes you can accent either the 1st the 2nd, the 3rd the 4th note or 1 and 2 or 1 and 3 etc and how if you apply this system to singles, doubles, flams etc you can end up able to do virtually anything, accented or not with either hand at any time.

2nd thing was a teacher pointing out I wasn't bouncing my left stick properly and whilst he didn't offer me a spefic cure made me aware of it and work on it so I now do and have totally changed my grip as a result over time.

Be interested to hear what other people say has helped them most.

1) Stick to a well planned practice routine and keep a log.

2) Transcribing and writing basic song charts.

1. Time Behind The Kit: some things just come with time. playing long enough to realise Where i need to be, where i am and how to get there. i mean months / years of playing - not hours per day.

2. A Month Long Break From Drumming: allowed my body to heal from the damage i'd done to myself from trying too hard and allowed things to marinate in my mind.

#1 for me was lessons where my teacher taught me his method of working the drumstick. That allowed me to develop strong hands, the single most beneficial thing that helped my playing.

#2 would be the metronome. Nothing teaches you timing and meter like a metronome.

#3. Recording myself and listening back. Whoops.