new guy needs advice on drum to engrave

engravertom

Hi everyone!

My first post, although I have browsed a bit. I am a professional engraver who also plays drums. I am looking for a drum to engrave. I like the Black Beauty, but am thinking about one of the Ludwig smooth bronze drums with the tube lugs. I could engrave with the traditional wiggle style engraving, but would rather engrave in a way that is more traditional from the engraving side of things. I am hoping to do some scroll work, and maybe some other designs/images.

here is a design style I am considering

picture.php

I am also considering building a drum with an aluminum shell, and engraving that. I wonder about potential re sale value though. I suppose a recognized name would be a better choice to start with?

I am hoping to break some new ground , as I haven't yet come across any engraved drums other than those done with the wiggle style of engraving, which is very common on musical instruments. That type of engraving is also occasionally done on the types of things I typically engrave in my work, but the engraved line type of work I most often do allows for a lot more detail. I have seen etchings in this style on drums, or laser engravings, but not actual hand cut engraving like I hope to try.

Just back into drumming the past 2 years after a very long time away from it, so I hope to learn about the playing side of things too.

Thanks for any input or thoughts on the subject of engraved drums!

(Oh, I am not against doing traditional styles too. I do restoration work also, and the history of engraving on drums fascinates me. )

Great idea !

Yeah, if your interested in re-sale value, I would use a popular brand like a Ludwig black beauty.

I think for the first one you should engrave something simple to see how it goes.

Even though I don't think it is actually engraved into the metal, I like this one:

13384047862178.jpg