Smaller Toms Compared To Larger

k-train78

It seems that more and more as I have gotten more serious about my drumming in the last couple years, the more I like smaller toms that "sing" as compared to larger toms/floor toms that "growl". I thinks it partially makes a setup mor ergonomic to transport if you are using alot of drums, and then just the more I develop as a drummer I really like drums that open up but can have deep fatness as well.

I recently had two toms up, a 10 and a 12, with two floors, 14 and a 16. But I just recently added in my 8 inch that I havent been using in forever, and I put it where my 10 was. So now I have an 8 and a 10 up, put my 12 and 14 down as rack floor toms, and put my 16 to my left side near my high hats. I like this setup so much now because I can play more Open Hand technique, and now i can really make my toms sing and play up to their individual potential. And my ergonomics are great now!

Im rambling on lol I was just excited with my most recent setup and if you have any interesting takes on a setup like this or if you have any other great ideas then toss em out!

*Sidenote: Ill get pictures of my setup real soon here!

It seems that more and more as I have gotten more serious about my drumming in the last couple years, the more I like smaller toms that "sing" as compared to larger toms/floor toms that "growl". ..... So now I have an 8 and a 10 up, ....Im rambling on lol I was just excited with my most recent setup and if you have any interesting takes on a setup like this or if you have any other great ideas then toss em out!

I two just added an 8 inch to one of my sets (and have one on order also).. they do sing. I can't believe how low you can tune them with good heads on.