Room Concerns for New Home Construction

Steve_tx

Soon I will be purchasing a to be constructed home, so I will be able to customize the construction where needed. What sound minimizing suggestions you can provide for my drum room? Any suggestions welcome, especially from those who have done this type work or are familiar with home construction focused on minimizing sound

Depending on the floor plan I decide on, it may be upstairs or downstairs. I would prefer downstairs, but there are several factors involved, like relation to other rooms, likely the smallest bedroom in the house, etc.

I have read about room in a room, but that is done after construction. I am looking more at while the house is being built. What kind of insulation? Drywall? (I've read about 5/8" and Quietrock) Windows? Flooring? Ceiling?

Thanks,
Steve

I'm a custom home builder. if your trying to sound proof the room use rock wool insulation in the walls, ceiling and floor joist if needed be sure to fill the whole thickness of the stud or joist space also talk to the HVAC man about isolating the supply and return air runs from the main trunk line. quiet rock is ok but i'm not sure it is worth the extra money dont forget to use a solid core door with weather strip

oldrockdrummer,

Thanks for the suggestions, I wasn't even thinking about the HVAC lines, that is excellent. I will look into the rock wool. Do you know how it compares to blown cellulose? The builder mentions they use blown cellulose, however I imagine I can substitute rock wool if it is much better.

Here are a couple more suggestions: