DW Snare Drums?

keanyew

Hey guys,

Just before I start things off, I would like to apologize for any false information as I am quite new to drumming ( played for 2 years ) but dont know much for hardwares stuffs,

So, I have been recently looking into DW snare drums. They cost alot and I mainly like their sound and their features eg. MAG Throw Off & 3P, True hoops,hardware colors, True-Pitch® Tuning Rods. These features just really throws me off.

However, I have been looking into some forums and many saying that DW is just a rip off and you should get something else like a Ludwig. Well then again it comes to budget, mine is around U$D 400 or so.

So which snare drum to get ?:p Please do educate me ! :D

Oops. Grammar error: Throws me off . Correct grammar : Gets me excited

Last edited by a moderator:
As always in this order. Budget, features such as size, 8 lug, 10 lug, material, like brass, copper, maple, etc. Color. Of course none of these matter if you don't like the sound. But always start with your budget. For every brand on the market you will find people that like and dislike them. Let your wallet and ears decide.

What kind of sound do you like. High and poppy? Deep and woody, bright and ringy, low and mushy? Start there. Then look for the characteristics that make that happen. Wood shell? Brass, deep, shallow? And so on. Then go and try drums that have those characteristics in your price range. I have snare drums from Gretsch (have a Gretsch kit), Ludwig, Sonor, PDP, Pork Pie and DW. The main gig snares are Gretsch Fullrange, Sonor birch Force, and Ludwig Acrolite in order of loud to soft gigs. The others have some cool sound or the other but these three are set up to sound like general purpose snares for most uses.

Everyone has their own opinion.

Some people love Ludwig snares and will play nothing else.

Some people have 101 different snare drums.

Some people love DW snare drums.