Drum noobie - where to start? What to start practicing?

Old_School_fun

Hey guys, im new to drumming, signed up here a few months back but was never serious about practice until now.

this is drum set that i use

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Pearl-S...-Set-with-Zildjian-Cymbals-560065-i1556269.gc

yes, maybe you guys think i should have spent less, or maybe i could have gotten better drums, but this is what i have so, lets just stick to that

my #1 question is how you guys start practicing.
I have played the piano for nearly a decade now and of course you start learning by reading sheet music, and then so on

now im not quite sure where to start with drums. do i try to listen to songs and play them by ear like the piano? i dont even know if you even read notes at all so......
if someone can show me where i can start then that would be great, right now im at the stage where i just cluelessly make beats off the drums at a beginners level.

help me out guys!

Welcome to the forum. Yes, drummers do read music. I would recommend getting a teacher, even though you have prior musical experience. It is a different instrument with different techniques.

Just to give you an idea, I tried to work on jazz piano by myself - looking at books, youtube videos, etc... I assumed that since I already played pitched and nonpitched percussion that it would be easier for me to teach myself. Also, I had class piano in college. In reality, trying it by myself was time wasted. I learned more in one month of private piano lessons than in an entire year of trying it on my own.

A drum teacher should be able to introduce you to the proper techniques of drumming. He/she should also guide you through reading, coordination, styles, and other concepts. Find the best teacher in your area. It will save you a lot of time. If you let us know what area you are in, one of us may be able to recommend a teacher for you.

Jeff