Non Drummerworld drummers

Larry

"Uncle Larry"
So every week I am part of a house band that hosts an open mic blues jam. I get to speak with my fair share of drummers. I just got a new Ludwig BB, and I asked one of the drummers, "hey I just got a new snare drum, when you get up there, do me a favor and hit some nice rim shots so I can evaluate the tone of it from the audience"

"Oh OK, what kind of drum is it?"
"It's a Black Beauty"
"Oh who makes that?"

Here I thought we were about to enter in a great gear discussion, but after his reply I lost all interest.

To me that's like a guitar player asking who makes the Stratocaster.

As a drummer on drummerworld, I feel like I have a college degree compared to a HS diploma for drummers who aren't on DW. There's so much info on here. It really became apparent to me by talking with non DW drummers.

Bernhard has done soo much to raise the game by creating this place. I place Bernhard right along with all the top drummers, for their contributions they made to the world. You really made my world a better place by creating DrummerWorld, Bernhard, and I thank you.

LONG LIVE DRUMMERWORLD!

I also have learned more here from DrummerWorld members than I ever would have from occasional interactions with other drummers.

Thanks Bernhard!

I have noticed that many nonDW drummers don't have a very broad knowledge of drumming topics. More so than issues with gear, I've been disappointed how little so many drummers know about the history of drumming and players.

Jazz, blues, rock, the modern drumset (baseball and lots of other things) are truly unique American creations.

I wish more people took an interest in these sort of things.

Wasn't Black Beauty a horse? ;-)