New to Drumset, But Not Percussion; Hints?

WhichJoeSmith

Hello, all!

First off, I tried searching for a similar thread but didn't find quite the answers I was looking for (although some great stories and threads never hurt).

Some background info, before I ask my question.

I'm a freshman in college studying percussion performance and music education, who's played various marching percussion at competitive levels, and had recitals for classical percussion such as snare and mallets. I'm a prospective marimba player at a Drum & Bugle Corps. in a neighboring state, and I also sang classical repertoire at a state-wide level and can play guitar and similar stringed instruments. Not to mention, I can read rhythms and pitch at modestly a very decent level, and I am very proud of my efforts to do so.

Now for the kicker, I've never really learned drum set! I mean, I've played it for a concert band song or two, but even then I was finding it difficult to keep all elements in line. Granted, it was a spanish/latin type of tune so the rhythms themselves were not something to just zone out about, but my foot just could not get that bass drum in there. It seems funny to me, because a lot of kids I know started on set, and THEN went to marching percussion, or wanted to do it for a living, or what not. For me its the opposite!

What I'm really curious about and would love to hear from this community about, are hints or ideas of how I should/ can approach drum set. I already have various techniques down, but am aware that not all of those can be applied to the set. In the least, I know how to hold the stick, and evoke a strong and proper sound from the drum (or bar) and have a strong rudimental base.

As mentioned, I have (for drum set) "okay" coordination, but obviously need worlds of practice. Luckily, I now own a drum set in my house, and purchased mutes to maximize practice opportunities.