Yamaha Nerds Please Help!

MrKickSnareHats

Hi all

Just wondering if someone could give me some more information on this Yamaha drum set. All I know about the kit is that it was imported from Italy, made in July 2002 (according to this http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/musical-instruments/drums/ac-drumsets/806/4177) and the badge says
Maple Custom Absolute
ATT1112J QIN6010
Made in Japan

Any information you have on these drums would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Jamal

Well, I'm a bit confused by a couple things.
I'm not an expert but my thoughts:

That is a wrap finish from the Maple Custom Definitive line., almost positive on that.
I used to have two snare drums in that finish.

To my knowledge, Maple Custom Absolutes were lacquer/stain finishes ONLY.
Picture below is a picture of the Maple Custom Definitive kit....this kit for sale locally with 8/10/12/14/16/22/14sn for $1799 (a smokin' deal btw!). Note the 'normal' triple flanged hoops. The badges also have a large maple leaf in the back ground as they were intended for the Canadian market.

They are made in Japan and are high quality Yamaha drums - Chinese maple I think - but either these were very special made for somebody - or - someone went through the trouble and considerable cost of replacing all the triple flange 1.6 (?)mm hoops with the die cast aluminum hoops in your picture - AND swapped out all the badges - changing Maple Custom Definitive badges with those Maple Custom Absolute badges. Also, the MCAN badges are screwed on, the Definitive badges are glued...at least some of them. Those are regular absolute lugs.

Or...It could be simply regular old MCAN's with that wrap finish on them. Can anyone confirm that this finish wasn't only on Definitive drums?

Neal

Attachments

• yamaha MCD.jpg
    yamaha MCD.jpg
    264.4 KB · Views: 1,169
Or...It could be simply regular old MCAN's with that wrap finish on them.

Neal