Finally, after more than 30yrs > Kit building thoughts and advice

TSL

Noob here. Caught percussion bug from mom's brother in the 60's. Taught myself on various kits in the 70's. Never had my own kit. Either couldn't afford it, or couldn't justify it against other (husband/parent/mortgage-holder) expenses. Haven't been behind a kit since college - 1983.

Planets are aligning finally after 30+ years of dreaming. My own kit.

But I am discovering that I may have an odd sense of how to build this kit. And so I wish to bounce my thought processes off of your virtual walls here and correct any glaring misconceptions prior to spending any $.

Let me start with some precursor statements: 1) This kit is for me, in my (now) spacious 3 car garage to once again "lose myself" for hours at a time. 2) I am not starting this out looking for a show kit - I am not looking to join any band; at least not now. 3) Perhaps it is my naivete speaking, born of never having my own kit, but I am about the sound and feel. I don't care if the shells match color, mfr, construction, or materials - they just need to work together. I don't care if the cymbal mfrs match. I don't care if the hardware matches. It just has to all work. Nuff said there.

My inclination - and this is the heart of my query to you - is to start this process by focusing first on my ride. For some reason I can't easily define, I see the ride, snare and hats - in that order - are going to be the heart of my kit.

I want an old, huge, dark, heavy 4000+ g ride with a huge multi-toned bell that can pierce any din; and so much real estate that it would require years to find all the sound possibilities. I want a deep throaty snare. And I want a dark, larger, heavier set of hats that also have a broad range.