Liveliness in playing

benozw12

Hi everyone,

I'm an amateur drummer playing for my church.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-09EH_JX-k&list=UUcKRpLzPGDTn7Uk54BC1wAw

I feel my playing doesn't have punch/dynamics - the way that I hit the cymbals and all parts of drums appear rather 'dead'.

I tried analysing how the great drummers like Dave Weckl, Bernard Purdie, Jeff Porcaro, etc, play, but still not sure how to go about solving this. Should my movements be bigger and I hit harder, in order to make it appear more lively and dynamic, resulting in better groove/pocket?

Hope someone can enlighten me. Thanks.

As far as your presentation, or liveliness in appearance, it all looked normal to me. I suppose there is stick twirling......
Dynamics, different sound levels loud/quiet, should be what the music calls for, not your appearance. The music on that clip was pretty straight for dynamics, and you played it pretty straight. Don't play loud of the music doesn't call for it.

If you want more liveliness, maybe try playing along to music that has some 'swing', or more loud/quiet parts.
JMO

Seems like you're a little tough on yourself. What parts don't you like? You are the best one to evaluate since you know the song, and the musicians. That song doesn't have many dynamic opportunities anyway. IDK I'd just change whatever doesn't please you. I don't think you weren't lacking in liveliness. You don't want to overcompensate. A lot depends on the rest of the band. You can't make up for anything the others lack. It doesn't work. FWIW, I thought you basically played a good drum part. Everything can be refined. Going off the thread title, I was expecting something much worse TBH. So I thought you did OK.

I agree with Louis and Larry.

The only thing that might add a little more dynamics is when you do a fill, hit the first beat of the fill a little louder. Although you did do that a couple of times.

Hi everyone,