Help! New drummer needs tips for building hihat-kick independence

lindy3080

I am new to drumming. Does anyone have tips for specific patterns I can practice to build independence between my hihat and kick drum specifically when the kick drum pattern has some syncopated 1/16 notes and the hihat is playing straight 1/8 notes?

Here is the background info:

I just started to learn how to play drums. Until I can start taking lessons I am having fun practicing drum kit patterns and playing along with songs with my snare pad and a chair (drum kit coming soon). I've got some basics down and can play along with Meg White (White Stripes).

Now I am to the point where I can actually play along (albeit not perfectly) with Dave Grohl on the Nirvana "In Bloom" song (which I could not do at all last month).

Here is my problem: The Chorus of "In Bloom" has straight 1/8 notes on the hihat, while the kick drum has syncopation on 1/16 notes. I can't seem to separate my right hand's hihat movements from my right foot's kick drum movements in this section of the song. My right hand defaults to playing the 1/16 syncopation, too, mirroring the kick drum instead of playing independently. Even when I've slowed the song down!

P.S. The Chorus of "In Bloom" is the most complicated pattern I've worked up to so far. Please keep in mind that I can do the basic non-syncopated kick-hihat-snare patterns just fine!

I have been having the same exact problem you are having...the only thing I can tell you is to play the song freakishly slow (I know it is hard to do, but to some extent, for example, if you were playing at 10bmp, I am sure you could get it down, not saying you should play 10bmp though) and when you can play it that slow, gradually bring it up, a few beats per minute at a time. A metronome will help a LOT while doing this.

Not sure what the beat for in bloom is, but try the beat for immigrant song, which is fairly straightforward.