Good Play-along Songs for Beginners

User555

What is the first record you remember playing along with? I started playing in the nineties, so for me it was Metallica, Pearl Jam, R.E.M., Nirvana, etc. Now that I've done some teaching, though, I really like using older bands. The Beatles' Rubber Soul is a great one for beginning players. Any other albums you drum teachers like to use for beginning students? I'm looking for stuff a student can play within the first few lessons. Thanks for your input.

AC/DC is the usual answer for this question (Back in Black mainly i think).

Mine were/are "Simple Man" by Lynryd Skynyrd, "Heart Shaped Box" by Nirvana, and "Today" by Smashing Pumpkins.

Motown tracks,

A lot of the chorous is 4 on the snare with an occasional kick on the & of 1 and 2. Then 4/4 during the verse. I generalise a fair bit but you you get the idea.

Playing with albums is alright, but I prefer drumless tracks. Try the education section of the Vic Firth website for drumless play alongs (as well as drum-included tracks of each song). Free, too!

http://www.vicfirth.com/education/drumset/playalongtrack.php

Also, the Igoe system doctor_benway91 mentioned is great!

-sheldon

Also, if you or your student have any rhythm video games (rock band, guitar hero 4+), you can record drumless tracks from the game by using drum practice mode, and recording the audio output.

+2 on Groove Essentials.

Wow, thanks for all the good suggestions. I will check out the groove essentials book. I've used the Fast Track book before, which I assume is similar, but I generally prefer the feel of original recordings over remixes. I really like the motown idea. Any one else have suggestions?