DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 05-17-2018, 08:19 PM

Default No Talent Hack, But Loving It....

So,,,, I am an old guy (45) and I have been playing drums for 5 months now.

I have no natural talent for drumming or music, but I do love to drum.

My skills have improved 1000%, but honestly, I am still pretty terrible.

Is there a chance that a no talent guy will ever be good at drums?

Of course, I do love playing my Roland drums and won't give it up, I'm just looking at my expectations of what I will be able to do in the future.
Old 05-17-2018, 08:52 PM
Silver Member

Default Re: No Talent Hack, But Loving It....

Recommendation: practice with actual music and actual music you like. CDs or some other media and a headset.

I recommend playing with a LOT of blues. Basic 4 on floor and triplet shuffles. Go to ride on guitar/harp/other instrument solos, and learn to do fills as they go to solos. Then a fill and back to hats when singer comes back in. Some of it may swing a bit, which is a different pattern. Some may use second line/Bo Diddley beat, too. Most of it will be 4 on floor blues shuffles, though. Learn to nail the snare on he 2 and 4. Play with the music. I think a lot of people make mistake of playing in isolation, or get too worked up about proper technique. The old blues cats just picked up sticks and played, and learned to play with other musicians. Kinda organic. Do that for a month and you'll have a lotta fun and be a lot better player. This is probably the easiest path to enhancing your playing, plus it's fun!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beefsock View Post

Of course, I do love playing my Roland drums and won't give it up, I'm just looking at my expectations of what I will be able to do in the future.