restart from the beginning?

bigA415

so recently I have become more and more into technical and dynamic drumming. i have been drumming for a few years now and while i would say that my technique is decent, its not amazing. iv been working on stick control and rudiments but im overwhelmed by the amount of material and i am concerned that i might not be practicing ever exercise correctly. I can obviously play single strokes and paradiddles at a pretty decent speed but i never learned to practice them at an extremely slow speed like many people recommend. the question is, should i go back and relearn everything at an extreemly slow pace, or can i get buy just slowing it down to a moderate speed, in hopes of increasing my clarity and percision?

The slower you go the more precision you will develop. If you have to ask...."Can I just..."
just figure NO. It's not easy, it's not supposed to be. That's what makes it great. Start over from the beginning and do it slow. If you can't play it slow, you can't play it fast, cleanly.

If you can already play them, then aim to apply them musically. This way you'll play them through a range of tempos depending on what the application is.

Newer players are encouraged to practice slow so as to learn the action and memorise the pattern. Quite often the tendancy is to 'run before you can walk' and the desire to rip them out at speed is too much of a temptation.....this means often times control can be sacrificed in an all out assault to play them faster.....just like their favourite drummers do.

It never hurts to revist slower tempos etc to ensure they are clean. But it seems pointless to go back to 50bpm and stay there just for the sake of it. If you've already got even and controlled singles, doubles and diddles happening then practice at different tempos (slow, fast and everything in between), practice them through different subdivisions and above all....make them musical.