Glyn Johns / recordman + snare

Groov-E

Silver Member
Hey guys !

Not afraid to sound like a huge noob here, I have no pretention when it comes to sound engeneering, though I am a patient dude and always end up with a more than ok sound. Plus, studios in my hometown seem to work more with hip hop or guitar/vocals artists. So we are trying to become more self-reliant in the sound department (mics and placement, interface, etc).

I had an ok kick mic and 2 cheapo small diaphragm cardioid condenser OH (pencil mics). We have a UR44 interface. I play one up two down 2 crash 1 ride and 1 effect, sometimes adding a left snare.

I used the recordman method to start (an OH +/- 2 stick length above snare and the other equidistant to snare over right shoulder) and move right OH around to adapt to the situation. We tinkered quite a bit in the last year with the setup.

Now I added an sm57 just for the snare which is a great overall improvement.

Questions :

1- Should I still point one oh directly towards the snare (back, front, etc.) or is there a common technique to start with ?

2- can i use the other oh pencil mic pointing upwards equidistant to the other oh in a john glyns fashion?

I know it's all trial and error, but just a couple of tips or do's and Donts would be apreciated.

Any suggestion can help including ones I can't even fathom at this point, thanks in advance!

And buying quality new OH is also an option, i just started simple and thought i'd work my way up.

Thanks and have a great saturday night !

I run a similar setup. e602 on the kick, 57 on the share, and two AT2020 overheads. When I use GJ or an overhead config that places a condenser directly above the snare, I usually move the 57 to the bottom of the sane to catch the wires a little better.