when is the right time to stop getting private lessons?

murakami

I have been taking drum lessons for about 3 years. I have learned most of the basics, and I feel that I can learn stuff on my own from watching videos online and practicing with exercise books. I am also in a band that practices around once in two weeks. Should I stop going to my drum teacher and practice on my own?

Even some of the best drummers in world still take lessons here and there.
Greg Bissonette, Neil Peart, Dave Weckl and many others will still seek out lessons from top teachers.

There is always something else to learn, or something to improve on.

If you feel like you've reached a point with your current teacher you're not sure if you should continue, perhaps it's time to find a different teacher who has a different approach, or specializes in a different aspect of drumming. Maybe a change of teachers will change your perspective on lessons.

I've been playing the drums for about 11 years. I just starting taking lessons again after a 10 year break.

I wish had I never stopped.

In my opinion, you should keep with it if you can afford it and you are serious about making progress on the instrument.

Good luck!

I have been taking drum lessons for about 3 years. I have learned most of the basics, and I feel that I can learn stuff on my own from watching videos online and practicing with exercise books. I am also in a band that practices around once in two weeks. Should I stop going to my drum teacher and practice on my own?

"when is the right time to stop getting private lessons?"

Simple answer: NEVER!

Cheers

Hey Dude,

That's a completely unfair question to ask those of us who have never heard you play.

The best answer I can offer is: you will know when it's time to stop, and only YOU will know.

I keep continuing my "lessons" by watching videos, reading Modern drummer, coming to this forum 2-3 times a day, and checking out other drummers at gigs and concerts.