Gig on Someone Else's kit...

thelimpingtoad

My band has a gig for a charity function at the end of next month. We will be one of like 10 bands playing. To save time on set-up/tear-down we will be using one of the other band's drums and just adding our own cymbals and stuff... back-lining gear on the side before the band is finished so we can just jump up there and be ready in a couple of minutes.

I have no experience with gigging on someone else's kit so I wanted to see if anyone out there has any good tips or can share some horror stories about what all can go wrong. I just want to make sure I'm prepared for this.

Right now i have no details as to what type of kit will be used, the setup/size of the kit, if it uses a rack or anything like that... so I can't even begin planning for it.

Any Suggestions?

I play gigs on venue supplied kits or other drummers' kits all the time. Basically, I always bring certain items with me:

- Sticks
- Pedals
- Snare drum
- Drum throne
- Cymbals

The sticks and pedals are obvious, they are what transfer my movements to the drums and cymbals, so I need to be as comfortable as possible with what I use.

The reason for the throne is threefold:
- The supplied throne might be shoddy (slipping down while I'm playing, unstable, etc)
- Adjusting the height of a throne until it's comfortable usually takes more time than just setting up my own
- My ass gets pretty sweaty when I play live. Assuming I'm not alone in this, I prefer not to rub my ass in other people's bodily fluids if it can be avoided.

As for snare and cymbals, I don't always use my own, but I always have those items with me in case the stuff that's supplied at the gig isn't up to par (which is more often than I'd prefer).