Do you vacialte? I do a lot...

Jeremy Bender

Platinum Member
Between different styles that you love to play?
For me it's Big Band swing and Prog Rock.
Different styles, techniques, gear etc... I'm never bored with it.

apologies if i was serious, just trying to help out here.
but ya sorry missed I the 'l' in 'vacillate'.
And am equally unsure you're trolling in your last post there eclipsu

Lol...sorry about my typo in the title. Proof that I shouldn't go near a computer until after the second cup of coffee.
Yes I meant to waiver between two different styles.

Yeah. Now I'm studying reggae and tango styles. Next month it might be hip hop.

I'll find out tonight! First rehearsal with a new original material trio. I suppose you could classify it as indie rock/pop, but the drum parts are very staccato, & completely alien to my background. Not as alien as Andy attempting free for jazz or anything like that, but for this old fart, it's a challenge alright. I'm worried as to how I'm meant to get satisfying grooves into such urgent material - we'll see.

Back in the day however, I did move to latin & (early) linear stuff from time to time, then found ways of integrating those styles into my rock/pop based playing. I'm still pretty much a one trick pony however :(

Changing styles is just part of being a good musician. To me, it doesn't mean you're vacillating or indecisive. Just creative and capable. I can go from a rock gig straight to a blues/jazz or fusion gig without feeling like I'm unsure about anything. Just different styles for different music/gigs.

Lol...sorry about my typo in the title. Proof that I shouldn't go near a computer until after the second cup of coffee.
Yes I meant to waiver between two different styles.

Make that until after the third cup of coffee.

Waver.