Injury; Old age or old equipment??

Dazzathedrummer

Hi,

I've been playing regularly for 22 years now, for the past 19 years i've been using the same Premier XPK.

I do around 60 gigs a year ranging from 2x 45min sets to 3x 1 hour sets.

Over the past couple of months I've been getting pain in my left knee (kick drum - i'm a lefty), towards the end of gigs, also, i'm getting lower back pain after I stop playing for about a day after the gig.

I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this.

The knee pain is like a tightness from underneath/back of the knee.

I was wondering if it might be time to buy a new pedal, I use a premier strap driven pedal that's as old as the kit, its quite loose and I've always wondered if maybe the strap has stretched and is too long - i'm quite heavy footed and before this pedal I have broken many chains!

Welcome to the forum.

I'd say it's time to get a new pedal. There's a bunch of great pedals these days, and they are LOADS better than what was available 19 years ago.
People have their preferences, but it's best to get your foot on all that you can to make a choice.
Look at your seat height too. It might not be the best height--19 years later.
The seat and pedal are two very important pieces of your kit.

Good luck!

We cannot disgnose your condition. Best to see a DR.

Age and injury creep up on us. During 2009 the right side of my body was numb due to nerve damage. Now I am watching the deterioration of my hard won technique to arthritis. My right ankle is history. My right wrist tonight is killing me enough for me to take 4 Panedine Forte to no effect.

Getting old is such fun.

I'd say time for a new throne. That would my guess as to the back pain.

Pedal straps can stretch over time. But it is possible to buy a new strap.

New pedal and a throne with a backrest.
Trust me, I know.
Fool with the throne height too.
Your problem is a combination of both age and equipment.