Sticks keep hitting together

Im a new drummer. I was rehearsing some material last night and the piece im trying to play my sticks keep hitting together.. Is it me? Is it how i have the snare and hihat positioned? Is this somthing that i need to work out?

its only on certain pieces i play that my sticks hit each other.. Any opinions. I adjusted my hihat and snare ever way i could :(

Last edited by a moderator:
Locate your hihat in such a way that you do not have to cross your sticks to play it. If you cross your sticks, it is predictable that they will hit each other. Most drummers compensate for this by upstroking the top stick ridiculously high to make way for the lower stick upstroke, but to me it looks odd and still invites collisions.

It could be a number of things. Throne height, drum/cymbal setup, stick grip, posture, etc. Video would be helpful. If you're taking lessons have your instructor help you anayze the problem.

Tell your sticks they are fully grown up and they have to stop fighting like children, it might do the trick.

Lack of experience.....in both playing mechanics and set up preferance. These things take time.

Remember, you do have a shocking habit of stressing out over things you're very new at. More so than any other player of three weeks standing that I've ever met before.

You have a teacher, sounds like he's competant and doing the right thing by you. I reckon it's high time you started chillin' out and just enjoying the ride mate.........or am I confusing you with another new player who stresses relentlessly? :)

Try slowing the part where you hit your sticks together down to a very slow tempo. At a slow tempo you should be able to see for yourself where it is exactly within the beat that your sticks are hitting one another. With a little time and patience you'll figure it out on your own and it will cease to be a problem.