DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 09-21-2013, 02:20 AM

Default Tips for a self taught drummer?

I've been playing drum set for about a year now but haven't improved as much as I want to. Financially, I am unable to take lessons. Any self taught drummers have tips for improving? Should I first build a good foundation of rudiments on the snare? I also want to learn jazz but have little experience in reading music.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6R5d34gcxdQ
Old 09-21-2013, 02:24 AM
Gold Member

Default Re: Tips for a self taught drummer?

"patience"

practice everyday.
read/play your drum books (if you cant afford a teacher)
drumchannel has lessons for a small monthly fee
when stuff is hard to play,... play it slow, get use to it and then bring it up to speed!
Old 09-21-2013, 02:30 AM
Platinum Member

I teach myself... and if I was going to recommend some material I would tell you to start here:

Tommy Igoe's great hands for a lifetime DVD
Benny Greb's language of drumming DVD
Stick control (book)
Metronome
Old 09-21-2013, 04:07 AM

I'll second that Tommy Igoe's "Great Hands" DVD is great. Just take it at a pace you're comfortable with. I've also heard great things about JoJo Mayers DVD, but I've yet to watch it. From what I've heard, it seems to be the best technique DVD of all time.
Old 09-21-2013, 04:51 AM
Platinum Member

Tommy's is better because it's practical. Jojo's is like a showcase of different techniques that make you go 'hmmm' and then you'll never watch it again, Tommy's is something that you sit down and play along with everyday.
Old 09-21-2013, 05:08 AM
Silver Member