How do you keep track of where you are in a song?

Thecowslayer

Hey everyone,
I was wondering how everyone keeps track of where they are in a song while playing. Generally, I will try to listen to the vocalist if the song has vocals, but I am trying to find a way to keep track independently from the singer, so I will know how the song goes no matter if someone else messes up or not.

For every song I play I first try to learn the melody "in my head"...I'm not good at remembering lyrics, so I don't rely on that...anyway, sometimes singers mess up the lyrics
and if you are relying on a certain lyric it could throw you off. After getting the "melody in
my head" I learn the overall form or structure...how many measures in the A section, the
B section etc...what is repeated and so forth. I don't count while I play but somehow I always
know where I'm at in the song. I'm interested too in others responses to this.

It depends in what I can hear in the venue. WIth good monitors in a nice stage, no problem. But in problematic setups (which is rather often) I have to zero in on a particular element of the music I can hear. For example, I always memorize the chord changes. So if all I can hear is the bass, thats it.

It depends in what I can hear in the venue. WIth good monitors in a nice stage, no problem. But in problematic setups (which is rather often) I have to zero in on a particular element of the music I can hear.

I remember that from my rock days. A messed up onstage sound is the pits - I'd even rather work in an office than deal with that (almost). It would bother me when the sound guy would assure us that the sound out front is great ... it's like, "So you're telling me that I'm flailing around without being able to hear critical elements of the music and this mess is crystal clear for the punters??"