10 prescriptions for productive practice

Simple and to the point - a handy list for sure. My favorites were:

- Show up on time. Treat it like a class, or job.

I know I am not a pro but it doesn't hurt to act like one.

- Know what you are going to practice before you walk into the room.

On days when I have sat down with paper and pencil and sketched out my practice routine I have much more productive practices. The days when I just sit at my kit and wonder what to do next usually end up with me throwing sticks at some point.

Thanks Anthony -

MM

I'll add one - save the fun stuff for the end. It's pretty hard to slog out the boring bits when you're exhausted from having fun.

Lately I've been starting with the sight reading (after warm up on the pad).

The hardest thing for me to do is work on the stuff I suck at. Whenever I sit down to "work on stuff", I always gravitate towards the type of stuff I can do well already. Problem is, that's not what I need to work on the most. Sure, I can always have cleaner doubles, but my doubles already suit my playing, and I think usually my time is better spent on something I'm no good at in the slightest, like jazz comps or way-up-tempo one hand 16ths with other limbs independent.

Along the same lines, but not the same thing, I remind myself often to get out of my music comfort zone where listening is concerned as well. Take gambles on albums, go to genres I don't normally visit.

Yeah same, I am up to challenges but I avoid starting out with things that make me feel inferior, that's the quickest way to kill my practice motivation.

Reminds me I should transcribe the progressive stuff that I can't figure out by ear.

6 days a week? any less isn't productive? seriously? For beginners or committed university students, maybe yes, but for most people, I'd take this with a grain of salt.