arms hurt towards the end of playing a gig.

dave the rave

towards the end of a gig my arms begin to ache quite badly. particularly on fast songs. so i find myself having to back down to a slower tempo. ive been told off many people(who dont know me) that im a good drummer. but this persistant pain in the arms is causing me discomfort and frustration. i love drumming so i hope i dont have to give it up. if anyone could help that would be great. thanks.

I'd recommend trying to adjust your technique so that you're doing less work the whole time. Playing a bit lower and with more flow will make a big difference in endurance and flow. You'll notice that the death metal guys actually play pretty quietly in order to go that fast.

Could it be that you're tensing up when you play fast? At the very beginning I used to do this as well. It's a kind of natural reaction, but can go away with enough conscious thought and practice. Could also mean you need to change to a lighter stick as the night wears on...?

thanks guys ill give it a go. i do tense up actually like im, using my arms to drum instead of my wrists. but i cant break the habit :/ thanks though ill try those techniques :)

its pretty natural to happen... ive felt like ive got tennis elbow a few times from playing fast songs...

you just need to ajust your set list so you have slow songs (if there are any) where you think you'll need a break

We build set lists the same way. not only for my playing and rest areas, but for the singer too. I noticed that the frequency of shows and gigs makes a difference too...if it;s been a month since we;ve played, I start out the show with way too much and find myself aching by the end....like everything else, its just a matter of finding that balance that makes it worth seeing and hearing and sustainable to your playing.