Down to earth ... bump

nbavidge

Hi all
My first post here and I'm afraid it's going to be a silly question.
I'm a mid-life-crisis drummer - been playing for a couple of years and love it but am under no illusions that I'm any good.
With kids/life etc, my only real opportunity to play in real life is a local jam night. I've been along a few times and have varied between bad and embarrassing. I can play along to the original recordings just fine, but with a real band it feels completely different - acoustics, timing, leadership, feel, volume ... my last outing totally bombed. It's pretty clear to me that doing my exams (just hitting G4) is helpful for technique and structure but will never make me a drummer.
The jam night gives me 2 songs, once a month, which seems the perfect frequency to achieve maximum humiliation without actually learning anything.
So... silly question: any hints on practicing live playing without actually playing live?

Just one point, and I may be completely miss reading your issue here, so bear with me.

When you play along to recordings you are pretty much following the music. When you play live you are the drummer, you are leading (depending on the song) Most times the count in and the tempo is up to you. Often the dynamics of the song are down to you. Its a different ballgame.

If you practice the songs for the jam night, dont just learn the drums, listen to the melody and fix that in your head, that way you always know where you are in any song. When I gig I sing all the songs to myself as I play, I am part of the music.

When you have learned the songs from the recordings, play them on the kit without the recording. Be honest with yourself. Can you then "Lead" the song and hear the rest of the music and know where you are?