French Grip - A surprising revelation

Ytsephill

So I had a lesson yesterday, where we were discussing speed and finger control.
I thought that I was using my fingers to its maximum potential by using match grip, and that with time and practice those higher speeds (rudiment wise) would come.

Well yesterday, my teacher was telling me I was barely using my fingers when going at higher speeds.
For example, a double stroke roll, when playing it faster I use no fingers at all and just press the stick using my fulcrum (if that makes any sense). Doing so, results in a not so good double stroke, at least for me.

So, what he made it seem was that French Grip is essential for higher speeds, so I can use my fingers and have better control. I was very shocked upon hearing this being that, I've been playing matched since I started (7 years ago), and for this past year have been working hardd on rudiments to get my hands up to shape..

.. And now I hear that, basically matched grip can only get me so far, and that I should've been practicing French Grip as well.
When I tried using it on rudiments, I was quickly frustrated at how uncomfortable I was. I'm slowly getting there now, and really realizing the speeds I can get to with minimal effort.

After hearing this, I went to check out some of my favorite drum vids and started noticing drummers like Dennis Chambers, using it when he does those blazing single stroke rolls across the toms.

Your thoughts on this?

EDIT: Should mention that I'm studying Jazz.

well first, french grip IS matched grip, one form of it, the other being German. (french=palms in, german=palms down).

fingers can be well utilized in German grip, here's an example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZnUmdtrbeo not quite jazz... but I'm a metal guy, so that's the reference I know. his left hand is kind of in between, but when he goes to the right on the snare, its pretty palm-down.

always a good idea to practice both though