Do Electronic Drums Make You A Better Drummer?

jonedwards1

I am considering buying the Roland TD12-KX for home practice. I know, I know, that’s a lot of money for a home practice kit. I want a kit that feels and sounds as real as possible. I also want to have the ability to use it gigging out if I choose to in the future. My point is that I heard using electronic drums can definitely be a great tool in improving your drum skills for many reasons; ease of playing along with tracks, metronome, practice anytime, etc.. I buddy of mine said he used to have a TD10 years ago and his drumming improved drastically. I am not a beginner. I have been playing drums for 40 years and just want to have a practice kit for learning new tunes when Im hired for pickup gigs and to keep my chops up during my down time. Are there any experienced drummers that use electronic drums to improve their skills?

I am considering buying the Roland TD12-KX for home practice. I know, I know, that’s a lot of money for a home practice kit. I want a kit that feels and sounds as real as possible. I also want to have the ability to use it gigging out if I choose to in the future. My point is that I heard using electronic drums can definitely be a great tool in improving your drum skills for many reasons; ease of playing along with tracks, metronome, practice anytime, etc.. I buddy of mine said he used to have a TD10 years ago and his drumming improved drastically. I am not a beginner. I have been playing drums for 40 years and just want to have a practice kit for learning new tunes when Im hired for pickup gigs and to keep my chops up during my down time. Are there any experienced drummers that use electronic drums to improve their skills?