When to expand beyond a 3 piece kit?

octatonic

I've been playing for about 4 years now and getting to be a decent-ish (but still learning) drummer.

I've been playing a 3 piece kit since I started but always thought I'd like to go for a 3 up, 2 down kit *at some stage*.

I know this is a fairly open ended question and depends on many variables but when is it a good idea to expand the kit?
I see both sides of it- spending time working on fundamentals and being musical with less seems like a good idea.
Having more options also seems like a good idea.

What do you reckon?

If you have snare, 2 toms and a kick it's called a 4-piece.

I always played a 6-piece, but sometimes less.

Skill has nothing to do with it. If you need or feel you need a certain kit, then that's the kit for you.

Reason for going small is sometimes taste, but it's often just logistics.

For practice you use what you need for practicing certain things, but if it's important for your style to be able to move around, that stuff has to be practiced to as anything else.

There's not even any rule that says your kit has to look "normal" in any kind of way.

Here's what a friend is using on his current gig.

it's great you started small. go where your heart and the music takes you. if that is 4 more toms.....sure.

Nothing wrong with adding more pieces now. If you like a bigger kit, keep it. Wanna go back to a small kit ..... you have that option, too. At one time, I was gigging with a 10 piece kit. I've also gigged with a two piece (kick, snare). Do what makes you happy.​

If you like a bigger kit, keep it. Wanna go back to a small kit ..... you have that option, too. Do what makes you happy.

^^^ Yep! I started off with a 5-piece and often felt obliged in some way to use the second rack tom because it was there, rather than because I needed it. Now I use a 4-piece but I still have my 5-piece that I can use if I ever want to play "White Room" :)