DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 01-31-2012, 06:41 PM
Gold Member

Default Drummers don't need music stands...

Okay my new band that has accepted me - warts and all - are a fantastic bunch of folks very good at what they do. I feel fortunate to be a part of their band and totally enjoy making music with them. We have our first gig mid March at a popular hangout.

We were rehearsing a song I only heard 3 weeks ago and we've played it all of 3 or 4 times. I'm still learning the song and how they want to play it. Hats and crossstick here, ride and snare there, bass drum only here, a break there....you get the idea. I've gotta write all this down and make notes, right?

To be honest, I haven't put forth the right amount of time learning it on my own. Memorizing it. My fault. I was in both high school and college marching bands and memorizing was something required - no music allowed on the field, so I'm used to memorizing songs.

I mess up a break and play right through.

They all stop and I get the usual amount of good natured ribbing for messing up. They then spot my music stand (I've always had it with me at every rehearsal), and freak out, saying I'm the only drummer they know who uses a music stand and to put my notes away and "just feel the music" and play because "the music stand is creeping us out". All this was done in a joking manner and all, but still.... Everyone else had THEIR stands in front of them. I wasn't mad, instead I laughed it off.