DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 11-28-2011, 12:26 AM

Default How do I find groups to jam with??

I've been playing drums off and on for the past 3 years and the one thing that I think impedes my ability to get better is being able to play with other musicians. Problem is my skills as a drummer are nowhere near competent, but my drum teacher keeps telling me to find a group to jam with. Well how in the hell am I supposed to find a group that would be down to play with my (current) shitty skills? Currently I'm at a point where I feel like I'll never find a group to play with and practicing drums(rudiments) by myself is by far the most boring thing in the world. I also live in the suburbs making finding someone close by to play with even harder.
Old 11-28-2011, 12:30 AM
Gold Member

Default Re: How do I find groups to jam with??

If you are a student, join band/find other students who play instruments and ask.

Look for info about "community bands" (for instance there is the Eden Prairie Jazz Band made up of residents of the town).

Go to bars that do open mics and talk to the people playing. Make nice to them and see if they are up to jams sessions for fun.
Old 11-28-2011, 12:37 AM
nhzoso

Post ad on craigslist, go on bandmix and make a profile it's free. I did after playing for 6 months and started playing with a bass player which eventually led into the band I am currently in.

Just be honest and put in the ads that you been playing for a year and want to start playing with other muso's. trust me they are out there.
Old 11-28-2011, 12:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by topgun2021 View Post
If you are a student, join band/find other students who play instruments and ask.