DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 02-06-2015, 08:24 PM

Default Do you own (or want to own) both acoustic and electric kits?

I'm thinking of buying a second kit. One to practice on when my other half is relaxing and not wanting to hear my painfully poor drumming - so obviously I'd go for an electronic kit. I'm relatively new to drumming and have only played my much loved Mapex Saturn IV MH Exotic in Black Burl (I'm just boasting here, it's a stunner!)

Just wondered if many other people had both an acoustic and an electronic kit and whether you played both regularly and if not, if that because the e-kit just can't compare?

Would I end up with the electronic kit just gathering dust or is it worth getting so I can practice exactly when I want?

Do I have to pay an extortionate amount just to get something even vaguely close to the beautiful Saturn loveliness?
Old 02-06-2015, 08:41 PM
Matt Bo Eder

Default Re: Do you own (or want to own) both acoustic and electric kits?

At my stage of the game, anything electronic is akin to buying a Nordic track exercise machine. I'd be all into it in the beginning, but a few months down the road it'll become something I hang clothes on.

I think you would save a lot more money by just getting yourself a little Pearl Rhythm traveler practice kit since it comes with cymbal mutes and mesh heads and practice on that. It'll be a little more bouncy than your regular drums, but that's closer to your acoustic drum feel than a bunch of rubberized pads would feel, so your technique doesn't really change.