DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 11-16-2014, 09:03 PM
Platinum Member

Default Possibly my first serious thread. Sexism.

Since I joined DW, we've had a fair few discussions on the subject of sexism in drumming.

Sexism simply doesn't exist in my real life. I'm a director of the company I co-own with Mr Madge. Many of our clients are women in very senior positions in large organisations. They are, quite rightly, treated with consideration and respect by the people who work for them.

In the past 6 months, possibly contemporaneously with my feeling that I have "come of age" as a drummer, I've encountered way way WAY more sexism than I ever have before. It appalls me. How can it even happen?? What century do these people live in, and how can they possibly, POSSIBLY think that it is ok? And the worst thing is that I am undoubtedly the thin end of the wedge: I shudder to think what real, successful women drummers have had to endure.

I've always been taken seriously on DW, from my firstish stuttering single-strokes to jamming songs I've never heard, with people I don't know. Therefore I am asking all DW'ers - yes, YOU, whether you're one of my good friends or not - to think about what is appropriate for people to say to you, your Significant Other, your daughter or your mother, and if it isn't right, to challenge it, and change it.

Ladies & gentlemen, I've suffered for my art. Now it's your turn (Neil Innes)
Old 11-16-2014, 09:10 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Possibly my first serious thread. Sexism.

Are you talking about encountering sexism here on the forum from members? Or sexism in general when you tell people you play the drums?
Old 11-16-2014, 09:19 PM
Platinum Member

Yeah, it's a real thing, and it's everywhere.