PA, mixers, speakers and stuffs.

Hey guys, im sorry if this topic has been raised before.
Anyway, it seems that me and my band need a small PA system because we need to pump up the volume of the vocals guitars and bass.
I have little to nothing knowledge about all these stuffs.

First, what is the most minimum requirement for setting it up?
Probably the inputs are only four, 2 guitars, 1 bass, and 1 vocal.
And do i need a mixer? If i do, do i need anything else besides the speaker and the mixer?
Or perhaps you know a better way for this.

Thank you

first off..

What is your budget?

Will you just be using it for practice?

You can get mixers with 4 channels, but the standard is 8. and that will give you some extra inputs when you need them. and trust me, you'll need them.

You say you're wanting to run bass through it.. So it sounds like you'll be needing 15" cabs.

This is what i have. It has plenty of power. I've recently upgraded, but it got us through practice, and it could cover small gigs.

Powered Mixer:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Soundcraft-GigRac-1000st-Powered-Mixer-103041380-i1153460.gc

Speakers:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Peavey-PR-15-Loudspeaker-104006200-i1153015.gc
x2

Hope this has helped.. and ask away if you have more questions.

Alex

sorry i forgot to mention my budget.
well as my band is consisting of 4 really young persons and beginners maybe :p, so probably it will be a little more than $400.

ya im using it for practice at my home.
but perhaps, this is another question that i want to ask.
can i just simply use the mixer and the speaker for my monitor when im having a gig?

yes the peavey may be nice, quite affordable i think.
but the powered mixer, cant just a simple, cheap, mixer do? like, maybe this one? http://www.guitarcenter.com/Nady-MM-141-4-Channel-Mini-Mixer-630433-i1153423.gc
cuz its really off the budget for us :p

thanks anyway :D

btw, i forgot to ask.
maybe you can help me again on this one.