Dw exotic / Yamaha HexRack

AnxMc

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this fantastic site. Just after investing in some pretty decent gear (in my opinion) and I have a few question. I hope I can get some help.

The kit in question is a DW Exotic. Now I do have some pretty OK hardware as it is but I also want to invest in a drum rack. The Yamaha HXR3L rack comes with 4 X HXTC Tom arms. My question is this: will these tom arms accomodate the DW toms or will I have to get DW tom arms seperately?

The reason I need to know this is because the Kit I'm after purchasing is a shells only deal. There is no hardware whatsoever. Living in Ireland makes it tricky to get DW gear as there are very few dealers here.

Thanks for your time. ;)
Andrew

Well, Yamaha and DW tom holders aren't compatible, so if the ones that come with the rack are designed to fit Yamaha toms, they probably won't fit your DW.

Also, be aware that the Yamaha Hex Rack is discontinued, so you'll probably have increasing trouble finding parts and extras for it as time goes by.

Just realised that the Hexrack has 4 L-Rod arms. That sorts out hanging the toms. The only issue would be adding extra clamps. There are Hex clamps available from other manufacturers. I don't think there should be any problems.

Just realised that the Hexrack has 4 L-Rod arms. That sorts out hanging the toms. The only issue would be adding extra clamps. There are Hex clamps available from other manufacturers. I don't think there should be any problems.

If you're getting the HexRack new, in the box, as that link suggests, those are not DW-compatible L-Arms. They are hex L-Arms (part HXLR) designed to thread into the Yamaha tom mounts, and only those mounts. The DW tom mount is for a 12.7 millimeter cylindrical peg. In order to use the DW toms with their factory mounts with the HexRack, you will very likely need to buy at least 12.7mm compatible L-arms, if not something more substantial.