Playing Live: Equipment decisions for mic'd vs. acoustic

Craig J

I'm trying to figure out what cuts through most appropriately in each situation.

I've been playing live for the last 2 years consistently with the same band. We play good ol' fashion rock n roll with a 60s-70s vibe at venues ranging from bars with a small stage to mid-size festivals, and everything in between. As a result, there are times when the drums are mic'd up, and times when they aren't.

I have some theories for head choice and muffling, and please chime in for other recommendations/thoughts. I am especially trying to figure out what style/size ride cymbals work the best for each circumstance. For example a 22'' pingy-er ride or a 20'' medium ride for mic'd vs. un-mic'd?

Of course, the venue, indoor/outdoor, microphone choice and placement, tuning, drum kit, and sound guy all come into play, but since there is no one-size-fits-all, I've kept this pretty general. There are some awesome, knowledgeable drummers on here, much more so than I, and I'd love to get some input. I'm really just trying to figure out what cuts through most appropriately in each situation.

So this is what I've found has worked for me and the music i play...at least what I hear and according to some convos from other drummers in the audience.

Mic'd Kit:
- pinstripe-type heads
- some muffling/gels on snare and toms
- decent amount of muffling on kick
- ride cymbal style: complete mystery

Un-Mic'd Kit:
- coated toms
- no muffling on snare, toms
- less muffling on kick than when mic'd
- ride cymbal style: complete mystery

This is a short list, and I'm looking to extend this further. Would love to hear your ideas from experience.

Thanks,
Craig